Zotero generates citations from an item's bibliographic information. When saving an item to your library, be sure that you are collecting all of the data that you need to create a proper citation. This is especially important when saving webpages (not research from databases), as Zotero sometimes pulls minimal information from websites.
If you citation looks incorrect, you can always double check the citation style you are using by visiting this help guide.
Follow these steps to generate an in-text citation from a single item in Zotero:
1. Right click on the item in your library.
2. Click "Create Bibliography from Item."
3. In the pop-up box that appears, select the appropriate citation style, select "Citations" under Output Mode, and select "Copy to Clipboard" under Output Method.
4. You are now able to paste the in-text citation in the word processor of your choice.
Follow these steps to generate a full citation from an single item in your library:
1. Right click on the item in your library.
2. Click "Create Bibliography from Item."
3. In the pop-up box that appears, select the appropriate citation style, select "Bibliography" under Output Mode, and select "Copy to Clipboard" under Output Method.
4. You are now able to paste the full citation in the word processor of your choice.
Follow these steps to generate a full citation from an single item in your library:
1. Right click on the collection's folder.
2. Click "Create Bibliography from Collection."
3. In the pop-up box that appears, select the appropriate citation style, select "Bibliography" under Output Mode, and select "Copy to Clipboard" under Output Method.
4. You are now able to paste the bibliography in the word processor of your choice.
