This guide is licensed under CC-BY-NC-SA, November 2024
Here are a few tips for conducting searches in the Jim Dan Hill Library Catalog:
"Cookbook" can be a generic term indicating a "how-to" set of guidelines. If your results are too broad, consider adding to this or using narrowing features on the left of the screen to get closer to what you are looking for.
If you want to look for items that relate to an item you already have by topic or subject-- look at that record in the library catalog and see what "subject" terms are listed. Those terms may be ones you want to search for.
Broad terms related to this guide include but are not limited to:
Cookbook
Cooking
Food
Baking
Recipes
Food stories
Food history
Food habits
Dinners and Dining
Food industry
Food industry and trade
Hint: Combinations of individual search terms with the phrase AND may help narrow your findings—e.g.: Recipes AND Gluten Free
Our library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. Within this system, the following call number ranges may be of help for browsing the stacks:
Keep in mind that the education collection (including juvenile materials) are shelved on the second or upper floor, while the general collection is largely on the garden floor (basement)
In the A-Z Database list, in the "type" field, you can, for example, select "Audio and Video" and then select "search." This will present you with a list of databases that include audio and visual materials such as films, documentaries, and theatre productions.
The two "Audio and Video" databases featured here offer eBooks (both Hoopla and Overdrive) and audiobooks (Overdrive)
Hoopla is a digital media service that offers access to thousands of popular e-books, comics, audio books, and more. Sign up using your University of Wisconsin - Superior username and password. There's a limit to 5 title checkouts per month.
See our Hoopla guide for more information.
OverDrive is a service that allows you to borrow audio and ebooks.
See our Overdrive guide for more information.
Keyword searches, such as for "recipe" will yield some materials but there are limitations of which to be aware. For example, it is recommended to remain aware of the source and historic nature of these items, which are drawn from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection. Please do be sure to consult the "Searching Tools" for more guidance (available from within the Database near the top). The "Introduction/Nature and Scope," including the Content Warning, is also recommended reading prior to searching.
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Business Source Premier, Ethnic Diversity Source, Historical Abstracts with Full Text, and Humanities International Complete are EBSCO resources. Keyword searches function reasonably well. For insights into search strategies, here are two guides (links will take you to brief YouTube videos):
1) EBSCO Help Video: Basic search
2) EBSCO Help Video: Advanced search
Find journal articles, business profiles, management and marketing information, and other business-related resources. Some full-text available.
Ethnic Diversity Source is a robust resource for diversity and ethnic studies that stands out for its rich array of books, journals, newspapers, primary sources, and other materials.
Find full-text articles and abstracts back to 1955, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Popular subjects include world history, military history, women's history, and the history of education.
Includes full text for more than 1,200 journals, indexing for more than 2,300 journals, plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
Keyword searches are a fine place to start! (e.g. "Food policy;" "Food justice;" "Food safety") For a primer on this resource see their "getting started" page (includes video overview). For a document guide for advanced search tips, see this user's guide
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 1500 subject areas, including women’s studies, social justice, education, law, history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included HeinOnline’s journal collection features 3300+ periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
ProQuest One Business and U.S. Newsstream are ProQuest databases. To expand, or limit, or explore additional ways to search, consider the "help" guide available via the left window (hover to reveal)
Major source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
*ProQuest One databases now have an AI assistant. For more information about the tool and how to disable it, please review the ProQuest FAQs and Clarivate's AI policy.
Current and archival to 1980s U.S. news featuring key national and regional sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune as well as over 80 Gannett titles.
A search for "recipes," for example, yields trends related to meal kits and subscription services in more than one country. If you wish to do more than basic keyword searches or narrowing by provided tags, see "search" on the help and faq page
Trending statistics, market insights, consumer insights, and ecommerce data for over 70 million companies
Key word searches in Documents ("nutrition and cookbook") should be enough to get you started. If you want to experiment with advanced search techniques, help resources are available here
Access the worlds leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Dates of Coverage: 1987-Present