COVID-19 Update: The library building is closed to the public. Physical ILL and some resource sharing items are unavailable, but we will make every attempt to fill your request electronically. We can mail our physical materials or create an appointment for curbside pickup. Please return all materials to the drop box outside the library. Click here for more information.
Find in-copyright scores essential for the study of composition, music history, appreciation, performance, analysis, composition, and theory. Search by genre, composer, conductor, instrument type, and more.
The Americana Collection contains sheet music published in America before 1900. The collection includes principally music from the popular tradition, although that distinction is blurred until ca. 1865. Many compositions are songs for voice and piano, but music for solo piano and other instrumental music is also included. Midwest publishers are well represented as is music by women composers.
Mills Music Library Digital Collections provide online access to some of the unique materials found in the Special Collections Department of Mills Music Library, including the Wisconsin Music Archives. Among these online collections you will find thousands of pieces of published sheet music from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, page-by-page access to one of the most important sources of Civil War era band music, discographies of our holdings of recordings by two important Wisconsin recording companies, and an online repository of the Wisconsin ethnic heritage materials collected by Helene Stratman-Thomas.