Skip to main content

COVID-19 Update: The library building is closed to the public. Physical ILL and some resource sharing items are unavailable, but we will make every attempt to fill your request electronically. We can mail our physical materials or create an appointment for curbside pickup. Please return all materials to the drop box outside the library.
Click here for more information.

Genealogy Research Guide: External Resources

Find out what types of genealogy resources you can find in the UW-Superior Special Collections.

Contact the Archives

Mailing Address:
Jim Dan Hill Library Special Collections
University of Wisconsin-Superior
Belknap and Catlin
P.O. Box 2000, Superior, WI 54880

Email: archives@uwsuper.edu
Location: 907 N 19th St
View Staff Directory

ARC Transfer System

The UW-Superior Archives is home to the Superior Area Research Center (ARC), part of a network of ARCs across the state. Historical materials from other ARCs, including some genealogy materials, can be temporarily borrowed for research. With some exceptions, any collection held by another ARC can be sent to the Superior ARC on request. The borrowed collection can remain at UW-Superior for up to a month before being sent back to the lending institution.

Transfer service in northern Wisconsin is limited, and there may be a significant delay before materials are transferred to the Superior ARC. For more information, or to request materials from another ARC, please contact the archivist at archives@uwsuper.edu.

Historical Societies

Types of Records Commonly Used For Genealogy Research

UW-Milwaukee Libraries provides detailed descriptions of some types of records used in genealogy research, including: birth, marriage, and death records; city directories; and naturalization records. Read these descriptions to get a better idea of what to expect from these types of records.

Wisconsin Historical Society Genealogy Tools

The Wisconsin Historical Society provides many tools and resources for genealogy research, including Civil War records, historic images, local history and biography articles, and more. Visit their Genealogy Page to start exploring!