Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The library building is open. Materials and services are also available online, through curb-side pickup, or mail delivery. Click here for more information.

John W. Beecroft Collection: Contents of the Collection

Contact the Archives

Mailing Address:
Jim Dan Hill Library Special Collections
University of Wisconsin-Superior
Belknap and Catlin
P.O. Box 2000, Superior, WI 54880

Email: archives@uwsuper.edu
Location: 907 N 19th St
View Staff Directory

Contents of the Collection

The collection of John W. Beecroft is arranged five series:

  • Series 1 - Books of the Literary Guild contains 850 books brought to publication by the Literary Guild.
  • Series 2 - Beecroft Personal Papers include school-boy writings by Beecroft, personal copies of the booklet, Wings, articles written by or about Beecroft, and materials pertaining to the International Novel-Writing Competition, and the Council on Books in Wartime, as well as numerous clippings and reviews pertaining to his own work and the work of others.
  • Series 3 - Beecroft Correspondence contains correspondence related to his professional career as Editor of the Literary Guild and other book clubs, beginning with undated letters and covering his professional career from 1927 to 1964. Includes material related to Beecroft's own books on cats, as well as 40 children's books published in the Soviet Union and acquired during his trip of 1930-31.
  • Series 4 - Miscellaneous Items from Beecroft's personal life, including family photographs
  • Series 5 - Oversize items of associated artwork and similar items. Separated from the main collection is a group of 30 large Russian posters acquired during his Soviet trip in 1930-31.  Translations of the 'titles' of the posters are available.

Please contact the archivist for more information.