Visits to the Special Collections & Archives can be arranged by appointment or you can drop-in, between the hours of 9 a.m to 3 p.m., Monday through Friday, subject to availability. It is highly recommended that you make an appointment for all visits to the Archives, as staff may be otherwise engaged or out-of-office.
Fill out the Archives appointment request to schedule a visit.
The JDH Library is located on the corner of North 19th Street and Weeks Avenue, on the UW-Superior campus in Superior, WI. Special Collections & Archives is located on the 2nd floor of the Library in Room 219, on the west side of the building (back). Visitors may park at meter stalls in Lots 7 or 10, or obtain a short term/day parking permit for general permit parking at the Campus Welcome Center. Campus meter stalls are paid at the site by downloading the ParkMobile app. Please visit the Parking Services website for maps and permit information.
Copies or scans may be obtained for personal research at the following rates, but not all materials may be reproducible. Use of a cell phone camera to scan or take photographs of materials is generally permissible. Always be sure to ask the Archivist.
Most scanning (11"x17" or smaller) is free for students, staff, and faculty within reasonable limits. Printing must be done using your staff or student account. The Archivist will let you know if a request is beyond the scope of time and/or ability.
For the public and larger scale jobs, costs are as follows:
Within the Wisconsin Historical Society Area Research Center records are housed thousands of records of naturalization for immigrants from Washburn (1878-1954) and Douglas (1855-1992) counties. We are able to provide scans of the original papers as well as notarization of said documents. This service incurs a $10 fee (plus postal costs) per record.
Distance patrons have several options for delivery of reproduced materials.
If you are unable to make it to the UW-Superior SCA in person, the Archivist or a student worker can conduct basic research (approximately an hour or two) for distance patrons. There is no charge for this, but due to our staffing, results can vary in time of delivery.
If more in-depth research is needed, we recommend that patrons visit in person or send a locally based proxy. For the latter, the Archivist can provide contacts, but be aware that these services do charge for their time.
Patrons seeking to use materials from our collection in any type of publication must obtain permission from the Special Collections for each item used and credit the UW-Superior Special Collections & Archives. "Publication" includes any public use, including in books, articles, social media or web pages, in a PowerPoint presentation, etc.) as well as exhibits in a public space (including in a museum, business, office, etc.). A Permission Request Form must be submitted prior to use. We will then issue a Letter of Permission. Some material may not be available due to restrictions or copyright.