Lake Superior Maritime Collection: Record Books

Contains maritime records and official documentation, including enrollments, Master’s oaths for renewal of license of vessels, conveyances of vessels, and bills of sale. The majority of records are from the port of Duluth/Superior, but materials from other areas are included, such as correspondence and other records from Portage Lake Ship Canal.

Box 1:

-- Copies of Enrollments, Duluth

– 1892-1896

--1897-1899

-- Yacht Enrollments, Duluth

                --1892-1896

                --1908-1909

                --1911-1929

Box 2:

Copies of Enrollments, Duluth

                --1875-1892

                --1901-1903

                --1903-1905

Box 3:

Copies of Enrollments, Duluth

                --1899-1901

                --Abstracts, 1902-1903

                --Enrollment Registry, 1900-1920

Box 4:

Copies of Enrollments, Duluth

                --1905-1906

                --1906-1910

                --1910-1912

Box 5:

Copies of Enrollments, Duluth

                --1912-1914

                --1914-1921

                --1917-1927

Box 6:

Copies of Enrollments, Duluth

                --1915-1917

                --1917-1920

                --1918-1924

Box 7:

--Enrollments, Duluth/Superior – 1920-1925

--Enrollments of Unrigged Vessels, Issued & Surrendered – 1925-1949

Box 8:

Copies of Enrollments, Duluth

                --1914-1915

                --1920-1925

                --1925-1926

Box 9:

Enrollments & License, Consolidated Certificates of – Duluth

                --1926-1930

                --1926-1930 (copies)

Box 10:

Enrollments & License, Consolidated Certificates of – Duluth

                --1930-1935

                --1935-1943

Box 11:

Enrollments & License, Consolidated Certificates of – Duluth

                --1949-1955

Box 12:

Enrollments & License, Consolidated Certificates of – Duluth

                --1955-1963

Box 13:

Enrollments & License, Consolidated Certificates of – Duluth

                --1963-1970

Box 14:

Enrollments & License, Consolidated Certificates of – Duluth

                --July 1943-June 1949

Box 15:

Master’s Oath for Renewal of License of Vessel, Duluth

                --1941-1942

                --1943-1945

                --1948-Feb. 1949

Box 16:

--Master’s Oath for Renewal of License of Vessel, Duluth

                --1946-1947

                --July 1967-June 1970

--Oaths of Registry, License, or Enrollment and License of Vessel, Duluth

                --1944-1945

                --1946-1947

Box 17:

Master’s Oath for Renewal of License of Vessel, Duluth

                --Jan. 1950-Feb. 1952

                --Feb. 1954-Dec. 1956

                --July 1964-June 1967

Box 18:

Master’s Oath for Renewal of License of Vessel, Duluth

                --July 1959-June 1965

Box 19:

--Master’s Oath for Renewal of License of Vessel, Duluth

                --Dec. 1956-June 1959

-- Oaths of Registry, License, or Enrollment and License of Vessel, Duluth

                --Dec. 1947-June 1955

Box 20:

Oaths of Registry, License, or Enrollment and License of Vessel, Duluth

                --July 1955-June 1965

                --July 1965-June 1970

Box 21:

--Admeasurements of Vessels, Tonnage Descriptions – Duluth

                --Feb. 1873-1912

--Index of Preferred Mortgages and Maritime Liens

                --1900-1949

--Oath/Declaration of New or Alternative Master of Vessel

                --July 1964-June 1970

--Record of Maritime Documents Deposited

                --1930-1933

                --1940-1942

                --1941-1956

Box 22:

--Conveyances of Vessels, Record of Misc.

                --1891-1897

                --1920-1922

--Abstract of Enrollment, Duluth

                --1871-1902

Box 23:

Conveyances of Vessels, Record of Misc.

                --1902-1904

                --1903-1906

                --1905-1914

                --1910-1919

Box 24:

Conveyances of Vessels, Record of Misc.

--1900-1903       

--1906-1916

--1909-1917       

--1911-1920

Box 25:

Conveyances of Vessels, Record of Misc.

                --1921-1927

                --1927-1935

                --1934-1943

Box 26:

Conveyances of Vessels, Record of Misc.

                --1925-1927

                --1927-1928

Box 27:

Conveyances of Vessels, General Index

                --1872-1905

                --1905-1942

                --1942-1949

Box 28:

--Abstract & Certificates of Record of Title. Collector of Customs, Duluth MN. Date: 1927-1948

-- Abstracts Received. Collector of Customs, Duluth MN. Date: 1928 - 1948 [bulk 1939 - 1948].

-- Reception Register for Bill of Sale & Mortgage Books. Date: May 1900 - Sept. 1915

Box 29:

-- Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1872 – 1875

-- Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1874 – 1891

-- Bills of Sale (copies of), Licenses under 20 Tons. Date: Oct. 1875 - July 1883

-- Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1891 – 1896

Box 30:

-- Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1896 – 1899

-- Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1899 – 1900

-- Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1900-1901

-- Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1901 – 1902

Box 31:

-- Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: March 1902 - July 1902.

--Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1902 - 1906

--Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1906 - 1909

-- Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1906 – 1910

Box 32:

-- Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: Oct. 1910 - 1915. Description ¾ full volume.

--Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1912 - 1926. Description 3 records.

--Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1913 - 1922. Description: 36 records, some voided.

--Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1914 - 1919

Box 33:

--Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1914 - Jan. 1923. Description: full volume.

-- Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1919 - 1927. Description: full volume.

--Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1920 - 1934. Description: full volume.

--Bills of Sale, Copies of - Enrolled Vessels. Date: 1927 - 1941. Description: full volume.

Box 34:

Mortgage of Registered and Enrolled Vessels

                --Jan. 1889-Apr. 1897

                --Mar. 1897-Oct. 1905

                --Oct. 1905-Sept. 1915

                --Sept. 1914-Feb. 1939

Box 35:

Financial Records, U.S. Customs

                --Salaries and Contingent Expenses – 1924-1929

                --Employee History

                                --1894-1916

                                --1919-1921

                --Statistical Blotters

                                --1894-[1908]

                                --1897-1912

Box 36:

Financial Records, U.S. Customs

                --Salaries and Payments

                                --1918-1929

                                --1929-1933

                --Expense Statement and Transaction, 1914

Box 37:

--Index of Licenses for Vessels Under 20 Tons – 1914-1919

--List of Vessel Names, Arrival Times, and Cargo or Dock – Port of Duluth/Superior – April 19, 1969-Nov. 14, 1970

--“Coasting Trade” Licenses, Duluth

                --5/14/1875-1/1/1892

                --4/23/1873-7/22/1874

--Listing of Vessels Engaged in Foreign Trade out of Duluth – 4/20/1910-9/30/1929 (includes aeroplanes 1929-1932)

--Record of Tonnage Admeasurement – 1913-1927

Box 38:

--Department of Commerce Overtime Worksheets and other Miscellaneous Records – 1940s-1960s

--Master Carpenters Certificates – approx. 1900-1960

Box 39:

--Collector of Customs, Port of Duluth – Monthly and Yearly Report and Newspaper Comments on the Port – 1894-1912

--Loss of Documents Oaths (copies) – Duluth – 4/22/1871-11/4/1941

--Record of Consuls Certified Invoices, Vessel/Cargo – Duluth – 6/29/1892-4/28/1913

--Record of Monies Received from All Sources (all ports in district) – 1914-1924

Box 40:

Records of Changing Master (copies) – Duluth

                --4/28/1901-5/17/1914

                --1914-1915

Box 41: Portage Lake Ship Canal – Passages – 11/1897-12/1903

Box 42:

Portage Lake Ship Canal – Letters

– Repairs and Improvements, 07/05/1892-09/23/1896

-- Operating and Care, 08/11/1891-08/11/1892; 02/08/1907-04/27/1908

Box 43:

Portage Lake Ship Canal

– Statistical Register – 04/17/1898-12/06/1901; 04/20/1919-11/30/1929

-- Construction Work [oversize press book]

Box 44: Portage Lake Ship Canal – Commercial Statistics – 1896-1925

Portage Ship Canal Letterbooks (30 Vols.)

• “Operating & Care No. 1”. 1891 – 1892. Incoming correspondence.
• “Operating & Care No. 2”. 1892 – 1893. Incoming correspondence.
• “Operating & Care – Letters 3”. 1893 – 1895. Incoming correspondence to Portage Lake Superintendent, G.A. Marr.
• “Operating & Care No. 5”. 1897 – 1899. Incoming correspondence.
• “Operating & Care – Letters 6”. 1899 – 1900. Incoming correspondence.
• “Operating & Care No. 7”. 1900 – 1902. Incoming correspondence.
• “Operating & Care No. 9”. 1903 – 1905. Incoming correspondence.
• “Operating & Care No. 10”. 1905 – 1906. Incoming correspondence.
• “Improving #1”. 1892 – 1899. Incoming correspondence. Includes authorization to purchase land.
• “Improving #2”. 1896 – 1899. Miscellaneous correspondence.
• “Improving”. 1899 – 1901. Miscellaneous correspondence.
• “Improving 2”. 1899 – 1903. Incoming correspondence.
• “Operating & Care”. 1889 – 1891. Outgoing correspondence. [very faded]
• “Operating & Care 2”. 1892 – 1894. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 3”. 1892 – 1895. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 4”. 1895 – 1897. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 5”. 1897 – 1899. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 6”. 1899 – 1900. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 7”. 1900 – 1902. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 8”. 1902 – 1902. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 9”. 1902 – 1903. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 10”. 1903 – 1904. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 11”. 1904 – 1905. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 12”. 1905 – 1907. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 14”. 1908 – 1909. Outgoing correspondence.
• “Operating & Care 15”. 1909 – 1910. Outgoing correspondence.
• “1127”. 1910 – 1912. Outgoing correspondence.
• [no label]. 1912 – 1913. Outgoing correspondence. Latter portion of volume lists “COE property lost” and various monetary figures through 1922.
• [Letter Book ‘1125’]. 1911 – 1913. Mixed outgoing correspondence of GH Banks and E Van Patten; includes records of work performed, attendance and ‘evaluation’ of various employees.
• [Letter Book]. 1913 – 1918. Mixed outgoing correspondence of GH Banks and E Van Patten; includes records of work performed, attendance and ‘evaluation’ of various employees.

Physical Description: 97.5 linear feet (44 oversize boxes, 30 volumes)