Teaching Using Canvas: Designing Accessible Course Materials

Universal Design for Learning Resources

• National Center on Universal Design for Learning: Provides universal design guidelines

Creating Accessible Word Document

• Microsoft Word Accessibility Guidelines: Provides best practices for creating accessible Word documents (Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, and online)
• IU Accessibility Tutorial: Provides some general guidelines and tips for creating accessible Word documents.
• WebAim Tutorial: Describes how to use headings, add alt text, create links, and use Word’s Accessibility Checker to identify accessibility problems. It also explains how to convert Word to HTML.

Creating Accessible PowerPoint Presentations

• Microsoft PowerPoint Accessibility Guidelines: Provides best practices for creating accessible PowerPoints (Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, and online). It also provides instruction on how to alt text for graphic, hyperlinks, and accessible design tips.
• IU Accessibility Tutorial: Provides some general guidelines and tips for creating accessible PowerPoint presentations.

Creating Accessible Excel Documents

• Microsoft Excel Accessibility Guidelines: Provides best practices for creating accessible Excel documents (Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, and online).
• IU Accessibility Tutorial: Provides some general guidelines and tips for creating accessible Excel documents.

Creating Accessible PDF Documents

• IU Accessibility Tutorial: Provides some general guidelines and tips for creating accessible PDF documents.

• WebAim Tutorial: Describes how to convert documents to PDF, to evaluate, repair, and enhance accessibility of PDFs, and to create accessible PDF form.

Creating Accessible Multimedia

• UW Extended Campus Kaltura Guide: Provides guidance on creating captions for your videos with Kaltura.
• IU Accessibility Tutorial: Provides general guidelines and tips for creating accessible multimedia.
• WebAim Accessible Multimedia Tutorial: Provides information on how to create captions, transcripts, and audio descriptions.