Teaching Using Canvas: Videos

Whether you would like to upload your own videos into your Canvas course or use existing videos, linking to or embedding a video in your course only takes a few steps.

Where to Find Videos

• Films on Demand

  • Find documentaries, feature films, newsreels, and performances in streaming video format. Subject coverage includes most areas of study.

• Kanopy
  • Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more.
• PBS Video Collection
  • The PBS Video Collection is now in its third edition and contains nearly 600 titles. This product brings one of television’s most trusted networks into classrooms, with familiar series and names like NOVA, Nature, Neil DeGrasse Tyson, Ken Burns, American Experience, and Frontline.

Find more streaming videos from the Jim Dan Hill Library's Databases A-Z list here! If you would like to request a video for purchase or if you have any copyright questions, you may contact Hanna Paquette, our Acquisitions Librarian, at hpaquett@uwsuper.edu. 

Embedding Videos

To embed a video into your course page, you will need to locate the HTML code provided by the database. This code will usually be located behind a "Share" or "Embed" link. Below, you can see where to find this code in Films on Demand.

Once you click "Share," you can copy the embed code, as shown below.

Next, in your course page, click the icon circled below to access the page's HTML code:

Here, you can paste the embed code in the line below your existing code.

Linking to Videos

If you prefer to include a link to a video in your course page, be sure to use a persistent link (also called a permalink or stable link) that will recognize your students' access to the library's databases. This can often be found after clicking a "Share" button in a database. To make your course page accessible to users of screen readers, include a text description of the link instead of copying and pasting the link directly into the course page.

Uploading Your Own Videos with MyMedia

Additional Kaltura (MyMedia) video tutorials are available on the Kaltura website.

Whether you are embedding or linking to a video in your Canvas course, be sure to include a full citation so students know where to find the video if your video or link are broken. You can find a link to your discipline's style guide here. If citing an openly-licensed image, use TASL (Title, Author, Source, License) as a baseline for attributing the original author(s).