
1. Think about and develop a SEARCH STRATEGY!5. Web Sites of Interest
2. Find Background Information...Use Reference Resources
- Samples:
- Encyclopedia of Women's History in America (Reference HQ 1410 .C85 1996)
- Feminism: A Reference Handbook (Reference HQ 1410 .H365 1998)
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide (Reference HQ 1115 .G74 2003 vol 1-6)
- Reader's Guide to Women's Studies (Reference HQ 1180 .R43 1998)
- Statistical Handbook on Women in America (Reference HQ 1420 .T34 1996)
- Women's Progress in America (Reference HQ 1410 .F76 1994)
- Women's Studies Encyclopedia (Reference HQ 1115 .W645 1989 vol 1-3)
3. Find Books & Videos
4. Identify and Find Journal Articles
- JDH Library Catalog
- Use the Guided Keyword search to search for your topic and its synonyms.
- Use the Author-Title-Subject search to search for subject headings such as: Feminist Theory, Women, and Women's Studies.
- Browse JDH Library's books. The HQ 1100-1400 call numbers are a good starting place.
- WorldCat
- Search as above and use the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) button to get those materials not in JDH Library.
- Use Interlibrary Loan if we don't have the book(s) you need.
- Indexes & Bibliographies:
- Use Bibliographies and Sources Cited Lists from the reference resources and books that you have gathered.
- Search appropriate periodical indexes in our "Alphabetical List of Databases" on the libraries home page:
- Academic Search (general index)
- Feminist Periodicals Index (index with a feminism specialty...located alphabetically in the Database list)
- Gender Watch ( specialty in issues related to gender...located alphabetically in the Database list)
- ViVa (index with a specialty in women's history)'
- The Gerritsen Collection (general index)...books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
- See also: indexes listed under "Multicultural & Women."
- Finding Journal Articles Cited But Not Provided in the Indexes
- Use the Author-Title-Subject Search in the Catalog to see if JDH Library owns the journal the article is in...search for journal title, not article title.
- Use Interlibrary Loan if we don't have the journal(s) you need.
Designed and Created by Jeneen LaSee-Willemssen
Last updated: November 6, 2007
Copyright © 2001. All Rights Reserved.