Resources for Identifying, Locating, & Evaluating
Tests & Measurements
Test Information
On December 17, 2003, the U.S. government stopped supporting the free education
site known as 'ERIC'. Some of the test information can still be found online.
Buros is available in the JDH Library both in paper and online. You may search
for citations to reviews of educational and psychological tests and measures
that The Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
that ProEd (book publisher) have included in their directories, i.e.,
the Mental Measurements Yearbooks, Tests in Print, and Test Critiques (see
below).
Some of the resources previously found on ERIC:
Practical Assessment Research
and Evaluation (PARE)
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Measures
Reference BF431 .D47 1996 vol 1-7
Typically the tests in this directory are referred to in the literature but
not commercially published. Copies of these tests can sometimes be requested
or purchased from the author of the test (author information provided in the
directory).
Mental
Measurements Yearbook
Also available in
Reference BF431 .M46 2001
An irregularly published yearbook designed to assist test users in locating,
selecting, and using standardized tests of all types. Provides a bibliography
of published tests, critical test reviews, and excerpts from reviews, as well
as references to the literature for specific tests.
Personality: Tests and Reviews
Reference BF698.5 .B87
Including an index to the mental measurements yearbooks
Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures Reference BF692 .B38 1990
Test Critiques
Reference BF 176 T419
A ten volume collection (JDH library has the first 9) of critical test reviews
that are arranged alphabetically by test title. The set includes a subject
index.
Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education,
And Business Reference BF176 .T43 1991
Tests and Measurements in Child Development: Handbook II
Second Floor BF722 .J643 1976
Designed to keep researchers, evaluators, and clinicians up-to-date on recent
developments in published measures of child behavior.
Tests in Print V
Reference BF431 .T37 1999
This 1999 publication serves as a master index to the test reviews, excerpts,
and references in the first nine Mental Measurements yearbooks. This edition
also features a publisher's directory (address and phone number) with a listing
of each publisher's test titles.
Jim Dan Hill Library is a Government Depository Library
Belknap & Catlin Streets, P.O. Box 2000, Superior, WI 54880
(715) 394-8341