Political Science Subject Guide
1. Think about and develop a SEARCH
STRATEGY!
- Search
Strategy Guide
- The library has a helpful guide to walk you through this process that includes information on how
to think about your topic (in general) and what types of resources
to use. Your discipline area will determine what resources you select.
2.Resources
for Finding Background Information and
Facts
- Examples:
- Your Textbook
- General political science books (browse the J to JZ call numbers
on 2nd floor)
- General political science reference books (browse the J to
JZ call numbers in Reference)
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (Reference
E183.7 .H28 2004)
- Encyclopedia of Government & Politics (Reference JA61
.C66 2004 vol. 1-2)
- Encyclopedia of International Relations & Global Politics
(Reference JZ1160 .E53 2005)
- Encyclopedia of Politics (Reference JA61 .E54 2005 vol.
1-2)
- Dictionary of 20th Century World Politics (Reference JA
61 .S53 1993)
- Human Rights Watch World Report (Reference JC 571 .H785
1996)
- Information Sources of Political Science (Reference JA71
.I543 2005)
- Political Science Research Methods (Reference JA 73 .J64
1991)
- General history and social science reference books (browse
E-H call numbers in Reference)
3.
Catalogs for Finding Books
-
JDH Library Catalog
--search for your topic or synonyms for your topic in the
guided keyword search
- WorldCat
--search your topic as above and use the Interlibrary loan button
to get those materials not in JDH Library.
4.
Databases/Indexes for Finding
Journal Articles -
Check the library's subject listing
of databases/indexes for a more complete list.
- If the library does not have the journal you need (in paper or electronic
form--check the List of Journals Owned),
use Interlibrary Loan
to request the article(s) you need.
- Academic Search
- Citations and full text of articles from a broad range of fields.
Select from Ebsco list. Academic Search Premier is more
extensive than Elite.
- Social
Sciences Abstracts Full Text
- Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields including
Community Health & Medical Care, Corrections, Criminal Justice,
Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Gender Studies, Geography,
International Relations, Law, Planning & Public Administration,
Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public
Welfare, Social Work, Sociology, and Urban Studies. An excellent starting
point. Select from Wilson options.
- Lexis Nexis Statistical
Universe
- Full text of statistical tables, searchable by keyword.
- Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
- Full text of newspaper articles, legal materials, and more.
- Sociological Abstracts
- Citations with abstracts for articles specifically published in
sociology and other sociological fields such as political science.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- This database supplies up to date bibliographic information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields. Included are abstracts of journal articles and dissertations from 1,000 journals, along with citations of book reviews appearing in the journals abstracted.
5. Web Sites of Interest
6. For More Information
- Ask the Reference Librarians for help and assistance. It is what
we are here for!
- Ask your Professor for suggestions and pointers.
Designed and Created by Jeneen LaSee-Willemssen
Last updated: November 12, 2007
Copyright © 2001. All Rights Reserved.