Jim Dan Hill Library's Catalog
Search the catalog:
- Use the Guided Keyword search.
- Enter your topic in the first box
- Enter study or teaching or activit* or guide* in the second box
Web Lesson Plans and Teaching Guides
There are many, many lesson plans and activities avaiable for free on the web. Some are excellent, others are horrible. Be particularly aware of those that are factually inaccurate or flawed! Here are some useful directories of lesson plans and related materials:
- ERIC on the Web
- Busy Teachers' Web Site
- Doucette Index to K-12 Teaching Ideas for Literature
- Educator's Reference Desk Lesson Plans
- Global Campus
- Houghton Mifflin Education Place Activity Search
- Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators
- Lennox Teachers Lesson Plans
- Scholastic's Teacher's Homepage
- Teacher Talk Forum Lesson Plans
- Teams Distance Learning Site
- Web66
- Yahoo's Education Lesson Plans
ERIC on the Web or select ERIC via EBSCO from the Databases list.
ERIC indexes a tremendous number of lesson plans, activities, and teaching guides that are very to teachers and librarians. To limit your search to only these types of materials, use the Advanced Search and select one or more options from the Publication Type drop-down list, combined with your topic. Example: folktales and (Guides-Classroom Learner or Guides-General) (in publication type)
Teacher Reference Center from EBSCO
The Teacher Reference Center is a searchable database for abstracts and citations of education periodicals, book chapters, and other resources.
Agricola is an index that specializes in agriculture. Teachers in the areas of life sciences, agriculture, and family and consumer sciences will benefit from searching Agricola for activities because it will identify a wide variety of 4-H and other teacher's guides. To find them, search Agricola:
- Use the Keyword Search in either Books or Articles. It may be beneficial to search in both sections of the database, since activities or teaching guides could be cataloged in various ways.
- Enter your topic in the first box, either as subject or keyword anywhere. The ? is the truncation signal; for example, garden? will bring in records with gardening or gardener or gardens.
- Enter guide? teach? in the second box and select any of these from the drop-down list; choose keyword anywhere.
- As a separate search, combine your topic with 4-H and select as a phrase from the drop-down list choose keyword anywhere.
Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL)
The Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL) contains all types of curricula that have been produced by a variety of local, regional, and national agencies. KCDL also includes some activities and lesson plans. Use WorldCat, a combined catalog of many libraries, to identify the curricula in the Kraus collection and then ask for them via Interlibrary Loan.
- Search WorldCat
- Use the Advanced Search
- Enter your topic in the first box. (Remember, you are searching curricula, not activities. Don't be too specific in your topic.)
- Enter kraus curriculum in the second box
Designed and Created by Jeneen LaSee-Willemssen
Last updated: July 27, 2006
Copyright © 2000. All Rights Reserved.