Economics Subject Guide: Jim Dan Hill Library
Jim Dan Hill Library Banner

Economics Subject Guide

Indexes for Finding Journal Articles (see also "Business" section of index list)

  • JSTOR
    • JDH Library index that includes the fulltext of backfiles of selected journals in several subject areas, including economics and finance.
  • Lexis-Nexis
    • Excellent starting place! Contains newspaper articles from all over the US, legal documents, court cases, regulations, and more.
  • EconLit
    • Economics index that the library pays for "per search." Ask at Reference to use this index...have a solid search strategy ready!

Books and Reports

  • JDH Library Catalog (search your topic and economic aspects)
  • WorldCat (search your topic and economic aspects). Interlibrary loan those materials not in JDH Library.

Demographics & Population & Other Statistics

  • Bureau of Economic Analysis
    • Provides "accurate, timely, relevant, and cost-effective economic accounts statistics that provide government, businesses, households, and individuals with a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of economic activity. BEA's national, regional, and international economic accounts present basic information on such key issues as U.S. economic growth, regional economic development, and the Nation's position in the world economy. "
  • Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development
    • Includes employment data.
  • Economic Indicators Handbook / Ref HC 101 .E26
    • Presents a wide range of statistical series commonly used for measuring the economy of the US.
  • One Hundred Years of Economic Statistics / Ref HC 106 .L68
    • Presents a wide variety of statistics related to the economies of the UK, USA, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, and Sweden. Graphs and charts.
  • US Census Bureau
    • The place to start for US population and demographic statistics.
      • State and County Quick Facts
        • State and County QuickFacts provides frequently requested Census Bureau information at the national, state and county level. Includes Wisconsin and Minnesota data.
      • USA Counties
        • USA Counties 1998 features over 5,000 data items for the United States, States, counties and equivalent areas from a variety of sources. Files include data published for 1997 population estimates and over 500 items from the 1990 Census of Population and Housing, the 1980 census and the 1992, 1987, 1982 and 1977 economic censuses. Includes Wisconsin and Minnesota county data.
  • Statistical Universe
    • The world's most comprehensive access to statistical information from Congressional Information Service.
  • Wisconsin Population Estimates
    • Published by Wisconsin's Department of Health and Family Services, this online publication includes mid-year population estimates for the counties and state of Wisconsin by age and sex categories for non-Census years. Estimates are used to calculate population-based health statistics.

Local and Campus Resources

Industry Information

  • County Business Patterns (Census Bureau)
    • Wisconsin: Ref Desk HC 107 .W6 U554 1997
    • Minnesota: Ref Desk HC 107 .M6 U54a 1997
  • Industry Surveys (Standard and Poor's) / Ref Desk HC 106.6 .S74
  • US Industry and Trade Yearbook 2000 / Ref Desk HC 101 .U54 2000
    • An industry by industry overview of the US economy--from manufacturing to high-tech to service industries.
  • US Industry Profiles: The Leading 100 / Ref HD 2771 .U8
    • Covers the current status and predicted future for 100 significant industries or industry groups in the US. Contains over 400 charts, graphs, and maps.

Legal Information (find regulations and so forth)

  • Lexis-Nexis
    • Contains legal documents, court cases, regulations, and more.
  • WestLaw
    • Like Lexis-Nexis...contains U.S. Code, Law Reviews, Wis. Statutes, Wis. Administrative Code, Wis. Digest, Wisconsin Reporter, as well as an index to articles on legal issues.
  • West Nutshell Series
    • Compact series of books that give a "succinct exposition of the law to whcih a student or lawyer can turn to for reliable guidance." Titles of interest to those in economics include:
    • Regulated Industries / Ref KF 2094.3 .P54 1999
    • Land Use / Ref KF 5698 .Z9 W74 2000

Consumers

  • American Cost of Living Survey / Ref HD 6983 .A67 1994
    • A compilation of reported prices for nearly 600 products and services in 443 cities in the United States. Includes Duluth, MN.
  • Consumer Price Indexes / Bureau of Labor Statistics

Web Sites That Provide a Variety of Economics Information

  • Beige Book
    • A summary of anecdotal information on current economic conditions gathered by each Federal Reserve Bank through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key businessmen, economists, market experts, and other sources. The information is reported by district and sector.
  • Country Commercial Guides
    • Maintained by the US State Department, these guides provide extensive information about the commercial environment of a wide range of foreign countries. Includes information on economic trends, the political environment, the marketing of US products, trade and investment data, and basic country information.
  • Econ Data and Links
    • Developed by the Department of Economics at California State University, Fresno, this site offers a wide variety of economic data from both federal and private resources. Includes links to statistics for population, Consumer Price Indexes, Gross National Product, unemployment rates, consumer confidence, and more.
  • EconLinks.com
    • A great place to start your search...
  • Economagic.com
    • Economic time series. Includes state figures.
  • VIBES: Virtual International Business & Economic Sources
    • Provides over 1,600 links to Internet sources of international business and economic information that are in English and available free of charge. Includes tables and graphs.
  • World Bank Group
    • An important source of information for economics in the developing world. Information may be found by region, country, subject, or sector. Includes research reports, statistics, maps, publications, news articles, etc.