Children's Books and Activities about Wilderness Survival

Background Materials for Adults

by Todd Manninen, Joan Wimme, Linda Bruce
Copyright 2001, All Rights Reserved

Boy Scouts of America series: Wilderness survival (1984).  Irving, TX: Boy Scouts of America.

This publication, written for both adult scout leaders and the youth they work with, provides good general background information on survival fundamentals.  Included are such topics as determining basic priorities, shelter construction, fire building, and first aid.  It does not go into great detail on any of the topics, but is a good overview and small enough to take with you when outdoors.  It is short, simple and easily understood making it a practical resource.  LCB

Curtis, R. (n.d.). OA Winter Activities Page.  Retrieved on April 23, 2001 from Outdoor Action, on the World Wide Web:  https://oa.princeton.edu/.

If you are looking for outstanding information on winter survival skills this website will deliver.  It includes information on several different types of snow shelters, winter first aid and hypothermia, navigation, safety issues, camping tips, and much more.  This is well researched information and handy illustrations will help orient you to the joys and dangers of outdoor activities in the winter.  The site also has information to many guided trips as well as information about different wilderness areas.  JW 

Freeman, J. A. (1983). Survival Gardening: Enough Nutrition from 1000 Square Feet To Live On…Just In Case! (2nd ed.). Rock Hill, SC: John’s Press.

The book details the major aspects involved in creating and maintaining a garden to meet the nutritional needs of people. This book is especially helpful in addressing areas such as finding the most suitable location for a garden and some of the different problems related to gardening in different climates and soils. There is also a chapter on how a gardener may adapt in a food emergency.  The focus of this book is more towards home gardening. The survival gardening section is not a major focus of the book. TM

Jacobson, C.  (1988).  The Basic Essentials of Map and compass.  Merrillville, IN:  ICS Books, Inc.

Map and compass skills can be daunting to learn but this book will help anyone, including the inexperienced compass user, to understand the basics of using a compass and map.  It covers information on maps, how to read maps, compass types, and navigation.  The books includes lots of diagrams, charts, and references and will help you learn one of the most essential skills in surviving in the outdoors.  If you heading out to the woods you will want to check out the practical and easy to use information in this book.  JW

McDougall, L. (1999). The Outdoors Almanac: Practical Solutions for the Wilderness Experience. Short Hills, NJ: Burford Books.

This book is a comprehensive work about the being prepared to enter the wilderness. Safety and proper equipment are highlighted to prepare readers to enter the wilderness. Important skills such as orienteering, survival, and identifying and surviving dangerous weather are also addressed. The author relates his experiences of near death in the wilderness and the teachings of Native Americans into his work that focuses on being prepared and using common sense. This book is an excellent resource for giving information on the steps needed to make a trek into the wilderness as safe as possible. TM

McManners, H.  (1996).  The Outdoor Adventure Handbook.  New York, NY:  DK Publishing, Inc.

Every page of this all purpose guide to the outdoors is packed with information and resources to help get you comfortable in the wilderness.  From campsites to tracking there isn't much that hasn't been touched upon.  Learn how to pick campsites, how to purify drinking water, what to do if you get lost, tents, and lots of information about  different kids out outdoor gear.  Lots of colorful pictures, diagrams, and hints for every level of experience.  JW

Stedham, Glen. (1997). Bush Basics: A Common Sense Guide To Backwoods Adventure. Canada: Orca Book Publishers.

The author gives input on how to protect you while in the wilderness. Some of the themes addressed are staying warm, what to do if you get lost, how to make fires, safe ways to keep and consume food and water, and how to protect yourself from animals and insects. Readers are introduced to a lot of techniques that can be used to ensure their trip into the wilderness is safe. The sections on consuming resources effectively for food, water, and fire are the book’s strength. TM

Wagner, M.; Mennes, M.; and Johnson, C. (1989).  Drying foods at home. Madison, WI: Department of Agricultural Journalism, University of Wisconsin-Madison. 

Distributed by the University of Wisconsin Cooperative Extension Service, this publication explains many of the basic concepts in preparing a variety of foods for longer term storage, thus making many of them excellent camping or survival food choices.  Background is provided on how dehydration works, general procedures, storage, and uses.  This piece is very useful as an advance preparation tool.  LCB 

Survival skills. (n.d.).  Retrieved April 17, 2001 from Free Outdoors, on the World Wide Web: http://www.freeoutdoors.com/.

This website contains a collection of links to many useful survival topics. The site is easy to navigate through, and provides quality material from a number of reputable sources, including a Search and Rescue Society.  While some of the links are to sites that may eventually lead to a source for purchasing items, and you do have to ignore some vendor advertising, each of the links has good, free information.  This is a comprehensive resource that is an excellent starting point for information.  LCB

 

Return to Home Page on Children's Books and Activities About Wilderness Survival

Todd Manninen, Joan Wimme, Linda Bruce

Copyright 2001, All Rights Reserved

Background and message raccoon graphics courtesy of ClickArt 200,000 (1997), Broderbund, Photodex Corp.
Beetle and animated raccoon graphics courtesy of GOgraph (2001), Visicom Media, Inc., Retrieved from the World Wide Web: http://www.gograph.com.