Gateways to Resources
- LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Business-News is a good place to begin for business news and information on companies. Business Search tab provides company dossiers, company comparisons and profiles, as well as country profiles.
- MarketLine Business Information Centre
Company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, SWOT Analysis, and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. Produced in Britain, so favors international business.
- Corporate Resource Net (articles, company profiles).
- Econlit
A leading source of references to economic literature, from the American Economic Association.
- Databases by subject lists several additional resources for Business information.
Accounting
- Yahoo: Business and Economy
Comprehensive listing of business and economics web resources. Searchable.
- BRINT
Features a Searchable BizTech Knowledge Map. Sections on Business & Technology, Knowledge Management, and Intellectual Property.
- National Association for Business Economics links and information
Economics
- Accounting Research Guide
Comprehensive listing of accounting resources on the web. Topics include accounting standards, handbook and dictionaries, professional associations, careers and annual reports.
- AuditNet.
The largest and oldest free information site with audit and accounting links, tools and resources. Includes an annotated directory of key audit and accounting Internet sites.
Marketing
- EconData.Net.
Links to over 400 socioeconomic data sources.
- WebEc WebEc
Searchable guide to economics websites. Subcategories include Mathematical and Quantitative Methods, Mathematical and Quantitative Methods, Business Economics, Economics Data, and Economics Guides.
Statistics
- Ad*Access
Images and database information for over 7000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements from 1911 to 1955.
- KnowThis.com: Marketing
Part of the WWW Virtual Library. Sections include Advertising, Consumer Information, Legal and Market Research.Small Business Development Handout
Finance and Investment
Lexis-Nexis Statistical Universe
A collection of statistical tables, many with links to related information.
Stat-USA (In-library use only. Ask at the Reference Desk to be logged in to this service). State of the Nation provides current and historical economic and financial releases and economic data; Globus (Global Business Opportunities) supplies international market research and country analysis; NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) offers country commercial guides, market research reports, and import and export statistics. The Trade Port Country Library provides country information based on STAT-USA data.
Population and Demographics
Links to U.S. and world statistics. From Binghamton University Libraries.
Government sources
Use the Statistical Sources menu in the UWS Government Documents web page.
General Statistics as well as sources for Business and Demographics.
From the University of Tennessee Libraries.
Statistical Resources on the Web
Links sorted by subject. From the University of Michigan Library Documents Center.
Online Management Tools
- Daily Stocks
Links to over 200 investment sites. Searches on specific stocks retrieve quotes, news, research reports, earnings estimates. Also includes IPOs (Initial Public Offerings,) mutual funds, columns.
- MorningStar.com
Information on thousands of mutual funds and stocks. Quicktake reports provide detailed performance, news, and management information.
- Forbes.com
Financial Services Tools include Quote.com (Stock prices) and Forbes 500s Annual Directory.
- Standard & Poor's Includes an alphabetical listing of the S & P 500 Index.
- Stock and Commodity Exchanges.
This site lists US and international stock and commodity exchanges, including those dealing in futures, options and derivatives. Other resources include market reports, indexes and stock prices.
- InvestorWords
InvestorWords provides a glossary of more than 5000 words. Links to related words are included with each definition.
- ValueLine Investment Survey. Print version only, available at Reference Desk. Ref HG4501.V26. Part 1-3. Library keeps last 4 months of Companies and Products.
- Hoover's Online
Good source for company information including officers, annual reports, SEC filings, earnings estimates, company rankings. Some sections for subscribers only. The complete Hoover's Company Reports are available through LEXIS-NEXIS under Company Financial Information.
- EDGAR
Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system. Provides 10K and other financial reports. Submissions from companies required to file forms with the SEC.
- Thomas Register of American Manufacturers.
The largest online industrial buying source. Free registration is required. The print version is available in Library main floor, Reference T12 .T612
Communication
Conflict Resolution
- Internet Resources for Communication
From the University of Delaware libraries
Empowerment
Goal Setting
Leadership
Motivation
Stress
Teams
Odds & Ends
- Academy of Management
A broad website. For access to full text of the journal of the same title, check the "List of Journals Owned" from the library website.- American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB)
- The journal of the AACSB, BizEd, is available in the library.
- BizJournals.Com
- Links to Business Newspapers. Most of the titles are found full text in the library.
- Career Development Links
- Principles & Codes for Socially Responsible Business Practices
- FastCompany
Another set of links for business resources. The magazine by this title can be found full text in the library.- Federal Government Information
Use these U.S. government links from UWS, or try the Illinois Institute of Technology's FedWeb Locator. One important link is the US Small Business Administration.- Free Management Library for For-Profit and Nonprofit Organizations
Links to online articles in 75 related topics.
Created by Laura Jacobs
Last updated: June 21, 2007
Copyright © 2002. All Rights Reserved.