This atlas provides historical outline maps and accompanying text documenting
the progression of civilization from through the late 1940's. Initially
this volume divides the world into 3 segments: China, India, and Europe/mediterranean.
These distinctions are diminished as the subject matter progresses chronilogically
to outline Greek conquest under Alexander the Great and the later rise of
Rome. In addition to historical and political developments information is
also provided on religion, trade and the economy, education, and urbanization.
Although leaning to the west in its emphasis, this atlas provides information
not commonly found in other atlases. Also
listed under Historical Maps.
Located on the first floor of the library in the Atlas cases, call #REF ATLAS G 1030 .S365 1970
This volume contains state maps for Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota,
Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin. Included are oultine maps for each of these
states showing individuals counties and county seats, State Legislative
Districts, State Senatorial Districts, Congressional Districts and various
historical and demographic maps for the above states. Maps are in a ring
binder making them easy to remove and photocopy.
Also listed under State Maps.
Located on the first floor of the library in the Atlas cases, call # REF ATLAS G 1390 .F3 1984
Outline Maps on the Internet
About.com is a unique search engine that acts as a portal to Internet. Individual guides are responsible for choosing links to feature. For Geography resources About.com is represented by Geographer and author Matt Rosenberg. Rosenberg provides 11 links to sites that have good outline maps. Included in these links are outline maps of the United States, including individual states, and the world. All of these sites contain easily printable maps.
These are outline maps that include Africa, Antartica, Asia, Australia, South America, North America, the United States, and regions of the United States. These maps have political boundaries outlined but no place names. This site is produced by educational publisher Scott Foresman.
abcteach.com is a web site developed by elementary educator Sandy Kemsley. This site is designed to provide ideas and educational stimulation for both teachers and students. The outline maps included on this site include many countries of the world, and maps of individual states and regions of the United States.
This site is hosted by the Texas Cooperative Extension's Monarch server. to color code up to six individual counties or six groups of counties. The map allows you to add a legend and some notes as well. Actual data is not included but this is an excellent way to present data that you have collected about individual states or the United States as a whole.
This site provides free printable outline maps of all regions of the world and the individual states of the United States. Of particular interest is the map titles "Pacific Ocean and Australia" that shows islands of this region. Maps are not large but are fairly well detailed. Maps.com sells many geography products and also has a page of map games on the internet.
50 states.com is a general information source for each state. Besides outline maps this site provides links to lists of famous state residents, curernt events courts, history, highway markers and a wide assortment of other information. This site also provides link to state tax forms. Started by Ray Weber in 1996 to be a source of information for students, this page produces good printable outline maps of each state that have dots marking population centers and a star marking each state capitol. Place names are not included on this map.
Dr. Chris Lukinbeal is an Assistant Professor of Geography at Southern Connecticut State University. On this page Dr. Lukinbeal has provided several outline maps of the world an the United States. Included are maps of Central Asia, Eastern Asia, Europe, Latin America, North America, South America and outline maps showing the entire world.This site also contains an outline map of the United States and maps of indivudual regions of the United States. All maps at this site available for educational use only!
|
|
Jim Dan Hill Library is a Government Depository Library
Belknap & Catlin Streets, P.O. Box 2000, Superior, WI 54880
(715) 394-8341