This comprehensive gazetteer provides 20 pages of world maps and regional information as well as geographic locations. Also includes the populations and geographic size of many of the locations listed. This gazetteer is also on the Internet at http://www.bartleby.com/69/Located on the first floor of the library in the Atlas cases, call # REF ATLAS E 35 .C65 2000
This Gazetteer contains entries "for places in (or surrounding, possessed by, or otherwise affiliated with" the United States and Canada." A particularly useful feature of this gazetteer is the inclusion of unofficial local names that are not officially recognized as place names. Entries include the place name, what type of entity it is (a city, landmark, or country for instance), the location, and a brief statement as to why the entry was included in this gazetteer. Located on the first floor of the library in the Reference Collection, call # REF E 154 .C36 1995
This world gazetteer includes information on population, "physical features, national parks, and international economic and cultural regions..." All countries and their capitol cities are included. In addition, secondary government units, such as the fifty U.S. States and the 22 regions are also listed. Other factors influencing whether or not a locality has been entered include considerations of the locations "religious, historical, or political significance." Other locations such as "archeology sites, tourist centers, industrial and disaster sites (like Chernobyl) are also included. Locations are entered alphabetically. All country entries are made in English. Other entries are made in the local language of the place being described. All descriptions are in English. This gazetteer also includes a 100 page color world atlas. Located on the first floor of the library in the Reference Collection, call # REF G 103.5 .C44 1988
This volume is over 2000 pages and contains entries of varying length for countries, cities, towns, villages, parts of cities,
geographic features throughout the world. All entries include a geographic location in relation to a nearby town
or geographic feature. The location of countries is described in terms of surrounding countries and latitude and longitude.
Most villages and cities have a population figure. Entries for countries are substantial and include information on
the geographic features, the flora and fauna, the political structure, the economy and the history of each nation.
In spite of its age this gazetteer still provides useful background information for specific locations. Additionally, it provides
a glimpse of the world in the early twentieth century.
Listed in the online library catalog
as Lippincott's New Gazetteer.
Located on the first floor of the library in the Reference Collection,
call # REF G 103.5 .L7 1918
This site was created in the Netherlands at Utrecht university. It allows one to choose what country or continent they want to search and then either browse through the names of individual places or search for a specific place. Each named location includes the latitude and longitude of that location and its altitude in meters and feet. There are also satellite photos and a description of current weather conditions for each location.
This page, developed by the Library at the University of California Davis offers several links to gazetteers of the world.
|
|
Jim Dan Hill Library is a Government Depository Library
Belknap & Catlin Streets, P.O. Box 2000, Superior, WI 54880
(715) 394-8341