UNIVERSAL BORROWING AND INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Types of Requests
- Universal Borrowing (UB) Request loans from other UW libraries,
the fastest and most efficient
way to get books not held at this library.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
ILLIAD is the library's tracking system for Interlibrary Loan.
- Books: ILLIAD is used to request books not available from a UW library.
Materials to be loaned from other libraries anywhere in the country.
- Journal Articles: Use ILLIAD to request articles
not available here through print or online full text, usually delivered in electronic form.
General Information about Requests
- You can place both UB and ILL requests yourself, or library staff will assist you if needed.
Contact Reference at 394-8341 or Interlibrary Loan at 394-8130 or send email
to Reference from
Ask a
Librarian or to the Interlibrary Loan staff at ill@uwsuper.edu
- For all requests, you will need your UWS ID number. Enter
all 16 digits, without spaces. You will also be asked to put in your last name.
- Notification for all requests is on your campus e-mail. Contact the Technology Help Desk at 394-8300 if you do not know how to use your campus e-mail.
- These instructions are written using the term “book”. The same procedures are used for videos, recordings, or other material. Non-print items may be harder to get than print materials because some libraries do not loan out AV materials or have more restrictions on loans. Sometimes microfilm or microfiche are loaned for use in the library.
- Your student ID may be used to check out at other local college libraries, an alternative way to get additional materials.
- Distance Education students: Please contact Interlibrary Loan staff for additional delivery options.
Universal Borrowing (UB) Requests
Request loans of items
held at one or more of the UW libraries.
- Identify the item to request.
- Start from the UWS Library Catalog and select UW Catalogs at the top left.
- Select “All Universal Borrowing Libraries” or specific libraries. Highlight and click on CONNECT.
- Enter search terms. See Finding Books and E-Books for descriptions of types of searches.
- When all the libraries listed show Done, wait a moment for the page to fully load, then click on Show
- Find the book you want in the titles list and click on the title to show the catalog record.
- Place the request
- Click on Request near the top center.
- Fill in your ID number and name. Click on Login.
- Type of request: Universal Borrowing Request Form is the only option; click on OK.
- On the request screen, fill in your ID number again.
- Add a Note only if there is something unusual about the request that it
would help staff to know.
- Click on Submit Request. Wait for the message that confirms the hold was successfully placed.
- To place additional requests, click on Back to Record and then either List of Titles or New Search to
find more items. You will only need to enter your ID number once for
further requests in the same session.
- Check on requests or renew
- Click on My Record in the top buttons row in the Library Catalog. Enter the login information and scroll down.
- UB items requested and checked out will be shown, plus UWS library
items checked out.
- Options include canceling a request or renewing an item,
- Renewals must be requested before the due date.
- Pick up your request items
- You will receive a campus e-mail notice that your item has arrived.
- Pick it up at the Public Services Desk. You must have your ID to check
out the book.
- More detailed instructions for UB and an interactive tutorial
are available in the Universal Borrowing link on the library home page.
Direct ILL for a title located on
WorldCat
If you locate a title by searching WorldCat, the ILLIAD form will be filled out by the system.
- Enter
WorldCat from this link or select from Other Libraries or from Databases and Indexes
on the library web page. WorldCat is a database with the combined library
catalog holdings of most major libraries in the U.S. and some in other
countries.
- Do a search for books on your subject. Use subject headings, contents notes, and other information in the record to help determine whether to place a request.
- Click on the Libraries icon to check owning libraries. Wisconsin libraries will be at the top.
If the book is owned by a UW library, place a UB request instead
- Place the request: Click on Borrow this item (ILL) under the main book information. This will link to the ILLIAD login. Enter your student ID number and name.
- The form will be filled out with information from the item record. Check the form, and complete if needed.
- If necessary, add any notes that will help staff verify that the record
you selected is the correct item for your request. The notes field is usually
left blank.
- Click on Submit Request. Wait for the message that the request was placed successfully.
ILLIAD Request Form
If you have a citation for a book, you can choose to fill in the form instead of searching in WorldCat. (Check first that it is not held by a UW library.)
- Start from
Interlibrary Loan on the library home page. Log into ILLIAD and choose Request a Book. .
- Fill in as many of the fields as you can. It often works well to copy and paste from the citation open in another window. Author and title are required. If there is no author or editor listed, put in the name of the responsible organization. Note that the International Standard Book Number (ISBN) will speed processing if it is available.
- If necessary, add any notes that will help staff identify the right
item record for your request.
- Click on Submit Request. Wait for the message that the request was placed successfully.
- Staff will identify possible sources and process the request.
ILL Tracking and Arrival
- You will be notified by campus e-mail when your item has arrived. Pick up the book at the Public Services Desk.
- To cancel a request or check on the status of a request, log into your ILLIAD account and scroll down to select View/Modify Outstanding Requests. A book “In Transit” means it has been found at its home library and processed for sending.
- To renew an item, log into ILLIAD and select View/Renew Checked Out Items. Not all items will be renewable. Renewals must be requested before the due date.
ILL for Journal Articles
- ILLIAD form filled in by the system: If you locate an article citation in a database with a Find It link,
use it to check for other sources of full text. See Finding Journal Articles for more about using Find It.
- Verify that there are no full-text sources available. If only the Library Catalog and Interlibrary Loan are offered as options, check the Library Catalog for print and microfilm holdings. If Find It does not link correctly, use the Journals Owned list to check for full text sources.
- If there are no full-text sources, click on the Interlibrary Loan option in the Find It window. (It may be in the Advanced options.)
- Log into ILLIAD with your ID number and name. The ILL form will be filled in for you. Check it, and add any information that did not transfer.
- Submit the request.
- Filling in the ILLIAD form yourself: If you have a citation in print or an online source without a Find It link,
use the Journals Owned list to check for sources of full text. If there is no full text available, fill in an ILLIAD request.
- Start from Interlibrary Loan on the library home page. Log into Illiad with your ID number and last name.
- Select Request an Article.
- Fill in the form with citation information. (Copy and paste from another window is often useful.) Note that including the International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) will speed processing if it is given. Many databases give the ISSN with the citation information.
- Submit the request.
- The request is reviewed by staff for copyright clearance and then sent electronically to a library that holds the journal. Staff will contact you if your item is difficult to locate, more information is needed, or if there will be charges.
- Check on your request using View/Modify Outstanding Requests in the ILLIAD menu.
- You will be notified by campus e-mail when the article is available. Articles are usually delivered as an attachment or retrieval link. If a paper copy is sent, pick it up at the Public Services Desk.
The above information is also available on handouts in the library.
Last updated on December 13, 2007.
 |
The Jim Dan Hill Library
is a Government Depository Library
Belknap & Catlin, Box 2000, Superior, WI 54880 (715) 394-8343 |