FINDING BOOKS AND E-BOOKS
Books are often the “backbone” of the resource list, providing the most complete
information and putting a topic into context.
Search the
Library Catalog from a terminal in the library or from your computer.
- Types of searches (Guided Search and Keyword searches are often the most useful to begin with.)
- Guided Search will allow the most flexibility in combining terms. Fill in the boxes with phrases or single words
and choose which fields to search.
- Use Title search if you have a specific book to find. Type in the first words
of the title —leave off only “a”, “an”, or “the” at the beginning.
- Journal Title shows the titles held through subscriptions, in print and other
formats. (The List of Journals also
includes titles accessible through full-text databases.)
- Author Browse goes to an alphabetical list of authors, last name first.
- Keyword with Boolean needs a connector (usually “and”, sometimes “or”)
between words.
- Keyword with Relevance searches on a list of words and shows the ones
with the best match first.
- LC Heading means Library of Congress Subject Headings. Only
the subject field is searched. It is also possible to click on a subject heading
in a book record to see others with the same subject.
- Call Number: can show other books that will be near a given call
number. Mostly used by the librarians.
- Try variations on your search—different terms and combinations.
- If there are too many hits to look through, add additional terms or limits (found on the right below the search box.) Limiting by date is often useful.
- Try broader terms if there are few or no results. For example, if there is no
book on Betty Ford, a book on First Ladies may have a chapter about her.
- If you find an item that fits or is close, try using its subject headings for additional searches.
- Search results
- A list of titles will display, with call numbers, dates published, and whether
the book is currently checked out.
- The results screen has a sort by box at the left. Publish Date Descending
will show the newest books first.
- Click on the title to bring up a single record with more information, including subject headings.
- Complete View will show additional details including the number of pages. For
some items you can also click on Table of Contents.
Find the books:
Jot down call numbers or print out a list of marked
records from the library catalog. The main books collection is upstairs in the
library, to the right at the top of the stairs.
- Locate the section of shelves with the same letters and numbers as the call number. Follow each group of letters or numbers in turn. See
Interpreting Call Numbers for more details.
- If the book you need is checked out, you may request it—the Request button is near the top of the screen in the catalog.
Or request a copy from another UW library. See Universal Borrowing and Interlibrary Loan for details.
- If a book is listed as not checked out and you cannot find it, get help at the desk. Someone can help you look—and if it is missing, it is good to let the staff know!
- Look at other books nearby. Other books that did not have come up in your search may also be useful. Use the table of content and index to look for your topic.
Check out the books
- You must have your UWS ID card to check out library materials. Other area college ID's are also honored and Douglas County residents may apply for a Community Borrowing
Card.
- Books may be checked out for one month, and may be renewed for an
additional month if no one is waiting. Additional information:
Circulation
Policies
- To renew or see due dates of what you have checked out, log into "My Record" in the library catalog.
E-books
- E-Books are books available in electronic format. Most were originally published as print books. The full text of these books may be accessed from any terminal on campus or from off campus with user name and password.
- E-Books are listed in the library catalog with [electronic resource] following the title and a location of “E-Book.” Online Government Documents have a location of “E-Government Document.”
To look at the book, click on the “Internet Link” line in the item record.
- Only one person at a time can use an E-book. If it is not available, try again later.
- You can print individual pages of an E-book but not the whole book. In some books it is possible to copy and paste sections. As with any source, give proper citation for anything quoted or copied.
- More about NetLibrary, supplier of the largest number of E-books. (Also found in the Databases list.)
- Link to a book from the library catalog or search within Netlibrary for E-books only.
- Click on “View this e-book.” It will remain “open” as long as you are actively using it.
- From the table of contents you can click on any chapter. Then use the page forward and back arrows.
- NetLibrary search options include full text of all books. Within a book, use “find” to search for words, especially useful for finding your topic within a book on a broader subject.
- Create a free account and login to add notes, make a list of books, or use other advanced features.
- More E-book sources in the Databases list:
- Also see the Texts section of
Internet Archive or Project Gutenberg for public domain books, including many classics.
Evaluate the books you found.
- Looking at the index at the back of a book and the table of contents in the front can be a quick way to decide if it will be helpful to you.
- Does the book have relevant material? There may be a section or chapter that is useful, rather than the whole book.
- How old is the book? Your topic may require current information, or may be helped by historical perspective.
Information on some topics does not change so the publication date is less important.
- What is the level of technical or expert information?
- How readable is the book? Is the information you need easy to find? If not, is it an important source worth some extra effort?
- Does the author have a particular point of view?
- What are the author’s credentials to be writing on the subject? Or, in the case of a book with an editor and multiple contributors, are their credentials listed? Is it from an academic source or professional organization?
- Is the book cited as a source by other authors?
- Additional Information:
Critically Analyzing Information Sources from Cornell University
Library, Ithaca, NY, Reference Department Instruction, Research, and
Information Services.
Books from Other Libraries
Bibliographies, reference lists, or other sources may lead you to titles of books not available here, or you may search in other library catalogs.
Try other UW Libraries first (Universal Borrowing.) Select "UW Catalogs" from within the Library Catalog.
If not available from a UW library, log in to
Interlibrary Loan to place a request.
See Universal Borrowing and Interlibrary Loan for details.
Your UWS ID may
also be used to check out books at WITC, UMD, and other local college libraries.
The above information is also available on handouts in the library.
Last updated on October 4, 2007.
 |
The Jim Dan Hill Library
is a Government Depository Library
Belknap & Catlin, Box 2000, Superior, WI 54880 (715) 394-8343 |